Repeal the Jim Crow Permit Law NOW!

 

 

Grass Roots North Carolina has been working to repeal NC’s Jim Crow-era pistol purchase permit law since 2003.
 
Originally passed in 1919 as a means for allowing sheriffs to deny handguns to minorities by using a vague “good moral character” requirement, in recent decades the law has been abused to deny purchase permits to anyone the sheriff subjectively deems unworthy. 

GRNC has been unable to get the archaic law repealed due to opposition by the powerful NC Sheriffs Association. We have, however, been able to remove some of its most onerous restrictions such as limits on the number of permits issued (the law requires one permit per handgun) and limiting the “look-back” for the good moral character clause.

All previous abuses of the law pale next to the recent blanket refusal by Wake County Sheriff Gerald Baker to issue permits during the coronavirus emergency. As rationalization, Baker cited the backlog due to the recent surge in new gun buyers and supposed COVID-19 health concerns (for permits which, incidentally, other counties were processing online).

GRNC filed suit against Baker, together with the Firearms Policy Coalition and Second Amendment Foundation, and Sheriff Baker is now under a consent order to begin issuing permits. We are receiving reports of foot-dragging by Baker, however, as online applicants are not being contacted for appointments to complete their applications within the 14 days stipulated by G.S. 14-404(f). Below you will find a request to report to GRNC any problems or delays in applying for and receiving pistol purchase permits (not concealed handgun permits) in Wake County.

Unfortunately, legislative leadership has adopted rules for the current session which appear to prohibit introduction of a bill to repeal or reform the purchase permit system. Accordingly, we need you to let them know loud and clear that purchase permits must go!

 



IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED!

 

 

Because no handgun may be legally purchased or transferred in NC unless the transferee possesses either a pistol purchase permit or a concealed handgun permit, Baker just demonstrated that a shutdown of the permit system effectively blocks the Second Amendment rights of many North Carolinians. Accordingly, GRNC continues to advocate repeal or reform of the purchase permit law, which would mean that background checks for handgun purchases would be done at the point of sale via the National Instant Background Check System (NICS). 

Consequently, you must IMMEDIATELY:
    • Email all Republican members of the NC House using the copy and paste addresses below.

 

  • Email all Republican members of the NC Senate using the copy and paste addresses below.
     
     
  • Report problems obtaining pistol purchase permits in Wake County to president@grnc.org. Please report ONLY problems experienced with applications made on April 3, 2020 or after, and please report ONLY firsthand problems with specifics including dates and other details.

  • Please help GRNC fight for your rights: As an all-volunteer membership organization, GRNC depends on your contributions. Please contribute at: www.grnc.org/join-grnc/contribute 

 

CONTACT INFO

 

NC House:

 

Jay.Adams@ncleg.net;Dean.Arp@ncleg.net;Kristin.Baker@ncleg.net;

Lisa.Barnes@ncleg.net;John.Bell@ncleg.net;Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net;

Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net;William.Brisson@ncleg.net;Mark.Brody@ncleg.net;

Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net;Jerry.Carter@ncleg.net;George.Cleveland@ncleg.net;

Debra.Conrad@ncleg.net;Kevin.Corbin@ncleg.net;Ted.Davis@ncleg.net;J

immy.Dixon@ncleg.net;Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net;Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.net;

John.Faircloth@ncleg.net;John.Fraley@ncleg.net;Edward.Goodwin@ncleg.net;

Holly.Grange@ncleg.net;Destin.Hall@ncleg.net;Kyle.Hall@ncleg.net;

Bobby.Hanig@ncleg.net;Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net;Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net;

Craig.Horn@ncleg.net;Julia.Howard@ncleg.net;Chris.Humphrey@ncleg.net;

Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net;Frank.Iler@ncleg.net;Steve.Jarvis@ncleg.net;

Jake.Johnson@ncleg.net;Brenden.Jones@ncleg.net;Perrin.Jones@ncleg.net;

Keith.Kidwell@ncleg.net;Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net;David.Lewis@ncleg.net;

Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net;Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net;Jeffrey.McNeely@ncleg.net;

Allen.McNeill@ncleg.net;Tim.Moore@ncleg.net;Larry.Pittman@ncleg.net;

Larry.Potts@ncleg.net;Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net;Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.net;

David.Rogers@ncleg.net;Stephen.Ross@ncleg.net;Jason.Saine@ncleg.net;

Wayne.Sasser@ncleg.net;John.Sauls@ncleg.net;Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net;

Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net;Carson.Smith@ncleg.net;Michael.Speciale@ncleg.net;

Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net;Larry.Strickland@ncleg.net;John.Szoka@ncleg.net;

John.Torbett@ncleg.net;Harry.Warren@ncleg.net;Donna.White@ncleg.net;

Larry.Yarborough@ncleg.net;Lee.Zachary@ncleg.net; 

 

NC Senate: 

 

John.Alexander@ncleg.net;Ted.Alexander@ncleg.net;Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net;

Phil.Berger@ncleg.net;Danny.Britt@ncleg.net;Harry.Brown@ncleg.net;

Rob.Bryan@ncleg.net;Jim.Burgin@ncleg.net;Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net;

Jim.Davis@ncleg.net;Chuck.Edwards@ncleg.net;Carl.Ford@ncleg.net;

Eddie.Gallimore@ncleg.net;Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net;Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net;

Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net;Rick.Horner@ncleg.net;Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net;

Todd.Johnson@ncleg.net;Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net;Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net;

Paul.Newton@ncleg.net;Jim.Perry@ncleg.net;Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net;

Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net;Vickie.Sawyer@ncleg.net;

Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.net;Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net;Andy.Wells@ncleg.net;

 



DELIVER THIS MESSAGE

 

Suggested Subject: Repeal Jim Crow Permit Law NOW!

 

 

Dear [NC Senator or Representative]:

 
The North Carolina pistol purchase permit system has been abused for more than 100 years. Originally intended for sheriffs to deny gun purchases to minorities, in recent years it has enabled some sheriffs to arbitrarily and sometimes maliciously deny permits under the vague and subjective requirement that applicants be of “good moral character.”
 
But the worst abuse of the system came in recent weeks when Wake County Sheriff Gerald Baker, using the coronavirus emergency as an excuse, effectively shut down handgun sales in his county by refusing to process permit applications. Even with a consent order levied against Baker to resume issuing permits, he continues to obstruct applicants by burdensome appointment requirements, reportedly violating the requirement under G.S. 14-404(f) that permits be issued to qualified applicants within 14 days.
 
Given that handgun transfers are prohibited under G.S. 14-402 without either a pistol purchase permit or a concealed handgun permit, Baker’s claim that his actions did not infringe on citizens’ right to keep and bear arms was absurd.
 
Meanwhile, the North Carolina General Assembly appears to have adopted rules for this session which prohibit introduction of yet another bill to repeal or reform the pistol purchase permit system. Realizing that the coronavirus emergency has imposed unprecedented burdens on state and local governments, I think you will agree that civil liberties must be preserved even in times of emergency.
 
Accordingly, I strongly urge you to facilitate consideration of legislation to repeal or reform the pistol purchase permit system, enabling lawful citizens to exercise not only their rights under the Second Amendment, but also their ability to protect their families at a time when that ability is most crucial.
 
I look forward to your support and will be monitoring this issue through Grass Roots North Carolina legislative alerts.
 

Respectfully,
 

 

Copyright Info

 

� 2020 Grass Roots North Carolina. All rights reserved. Reproduction and distribution is permitted provided full attribution is given and the item is reprinted in its entirety. Address questions to: President@GRNC.org

 

GRNC Sponsors


Support these PRO RKBA merchants who, as GRNC sponsors, are supporting your Second Amendment rights:
 

Corporate Benefactors


Blue Ridge Marksmanship
can help you to gain a better understanding for your firearm. We help your gun handling abilities improve and we teach you ‘a way’ to shoot. There are millions of ways to fire a gun and hit a target, we will help you find the best one for you, not hammer you into ‘the way’ to shoot. http://blueridgemarksmanship.com/

C & E Gun Shows, 4225 Fortress Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060; Phone 540-953-0016 or 888-715-0606; http://www.cegunshows.com/

Carolina GunRunners, Whether you are a first time buyer or a shooting enthusiast, Carolina Gunrunners is the "go to Place" to fulfill your firearms needs.  We offer quality products, quick turnaround and excellent customer service, all within a family friendly environment. https://carolinagunrunners.com/

Carolina Firearms Forum, http://carolinafirearmsforum.com

Carolina Sporting Arms, The Carolinas' destination for quality firearms and exceptional customer service for over 20 years. We specialize in firearms and firearms-related products with unmatched expertise to help both beginners and experienced shooters find the right products to meet their needs. Charlotte's only Five-Star indoor range! - www.csaguns.com

DD Media, 8300 Raintree Lane, Charlotte, NC 28277, ph: 704-650-5555, fx: 704-544-0326 donna@doubledme.com

Dixie Deer Classic, www.dixiedeerclassic.org

Dixie Gun and Knife Shows, PO Box 21049, Raleigh, NC 27619, ph: 919-781-1287, www.dixiegunandknifeshow.com/

Dr. Dan's Freedom Forum is a call to arms for those American Patriots who, in the tradition of our founding fathers, will stand up now to defend The Constitution and the Liberties that it guarantees to each citizen, to each of us. https://drdansfreedomforum.com/

Greensboro Gun and Knife Show, http://greensborogunshow.com

Hyatt Gun Shop, 3332 Wilkinson Blvd., Charlotte, NC 28208, 704-394-0387, www.hyattguns.com

MK Shows, Mike Kent, PO Box 685, Monroe, GA 30655, Mike@MKShows.com, Phone: 770-630-7296, http://MKShows.com
 
Triangle Shooting Academy, the largest indoor shooting range in the Carolinas, is dedicated to become the leader in responsible firearm ownership, training and proficiency. Visit us online or in person to view our range, retail, café and training classrooms. 919-802.2040, TriangleShootingAcademy.com
 
 

Corporate Patrons
 

Down South Ammo, Home of "SOUTHERN THUNDER" Exploding Targets, http://downsouthammo.com/

Reedy Creek Realty, 1818 Medfield Road, Raleigh, NC 27607, 1-877-428-SOLD(7653), NRA / CHP Instructor & Realtor serving the Triangle area, Free Firearm With Home Sale or Purchase!, http://www.ReedyCreekRealty.com
 
Take Aim Training, Outdoor Rifle, Handgun, Shotgun, and Archery Range located in the heart of the Carolinas. We offer Concealed carry, hunter education, and many other courses. NC & SC firearms sales and transfers. Listen to the Take Aim Training Show or online www.wixe1190.com Thursdays 4-5PM. - www.takeaimtraining.com

The Aisle Pawn Shop, 216 N. Main St., Mooresville, NC 28115, 704-663-5656
 

Corporate Sponsors
 
Brain Lube Online, interesting gun-related links, and more. www.BrainLubeOnline.com
 
Concealed Carry Academy - Concealed carry permit course. We teach for NC, FL, TN, VA and other states. Instructors are law enforcement/military. State Certified. Hands-on, personal attention, all ages especially seniors. Call: 828-356-5454 or visit www.wecancarry.com - “The most recommended course”. Individual and Group rates. Will travel.
 
Duncan Gun & Pawn, 414 Second St., North Wilkesboro, NC 28659, 336-667-6303, www.duncangun.com
 
Ed's Gun Shop, 5560 US 1 Hwy, Vass, NC 28394. 910-692-7936 (Phone) 910-692-4867 (Fax) https://www.edsgunshop.com/
 
Shooter's Express, 2 Caldwell Dr., Belmont, NC 28012, 800-358-GUNS, www.shootersexpress.com
 
TacticalGearOps, http://tacticalgearops.com - sales@tacticalgearops.com - (888) 285-2649
 
The Range at Ballantyne, 704-896-3155, 10913 Bailey Road, Cornelius, NC, www.therangeatballantyne.com
 
The Range at Lake Norman, 704-896-3155, www.therangeatlakenorman.com

Vanguard Security Consulting, LLC, 19135 W. Catawba Ave, Cornelius, NC 28031
 

Grass Roots North Carolina is a 501(c)(4) organization as recognized by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Contributions to GRNC are not tax deductible. "Contributions to civic leagues or other section 501(c)(4) organizations generally are not deductible as charitable contributions for federal income tax purposes. They may be deductible as trade or business expenses, if ordinary and necessary in the conduct of the taxpayer�s business." IRS - Donations to Section 501(c)(4) Organizations. Please consult the IRS website, www.irs.gov, or your tax or legal advisor for specific information.

Financial information about this organization and a copy of its license are available from the State Solicitation Licensing Branch at 9919-807-2214. The license is not an endorsement by the State.